City Council

Email the City Council


  • 3:00 p.m. - City Council Work Session and Executive Session*
  • 6:00 p.m. - City Council Regular Meeting *
  • First and third Tuesdays of each month
  • City Hall
    City Council Chambers
    630 E Hopkins
    San Marcos, TX 78666

* Times are subject to change, please check the agenda for correct times.

All Council meetings are open to the public. Citizens are encouraged to attend and participate in city government!


Agendas, Minutes & Videos

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes

Access City Council interactive agendas and videos and archives.


  1. Mayor

    Jane Hughson

    Jane Hughson
  1. Place 1
    Lisa Prewitt

    Lisa Prewitt
  1. Place 2

    Saul Gonzales

    Picture of Council Member Saul Gonzales
  1. Place 3

    Ed Mihalkanin

    Picture of Council Member Ed Mihalkanin
  1. Place 4

    Mark Rockeymoore

    Mark Rockeymoore portrait
  1. Place 5

    Jocabed "Joca" Marquez
    Jocabed "Joca" Marquez portrait
  1. Place 6

    Melissa Derrick

    Melissa Derrick

The San Marcos City Council is composed of a Mayor elected at-large by the people for a 2-year term and 6 Council Members elected at-large for staggered 3-year terms. Regular City Council elections are held on the general election day in November.


The Council enacts policies, adopts ordinances and resolutions, establishes the annual budget to provide services to the public, and sets the city tax rate, and water, electric and wastewater rates for San Marcos.

The City Council operates under the City Charter adopted by the citizens of San Marcos.