Historic Preservation Commission


  • 5:45 p.m.
  • 1st Thursday of every month
  • City Council Chambers
    630 E Hopkins
    San Marcos, TX 78666

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.
View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes


  • Greg Standard, Discipline in Historic Preservation
    Term: April 4, 2017 to February 28, 2020
  • Diana Baker, Downtown Historic District
    Term: March 6, 2018 to February 28, 2019
  • Thea Dake, Historic District 
    Term: March 6, 2018 to February 28, 2021
  • Bob Holder, City History
    Term: March 1, 2016 to February 28, 2019
  • Alex Arlinghaus, Discipline in Historic Pres.
    Term: November 21, 2017 to February 28, 2019
  • Ryan Perkins, Historic District
    Term:November 21, 2017 to February 28, 2020
  • Griffin Spell, City History
    Term: March 6, 2018 to February 28, 2021


The Historic Preservation Commission consists of 7 members, with the following make up:
  • 1 member shall be a property owner or business owner within the downtown historic district
  • 2 member shall be a property owner or resident from designated neighborhood local historic district
  • 2 members shall be City residents who have demonstrated an interest in the history of the City
  • 2 members shall be a resident of the City or extraterritorial jurisdiction (ETJ), or shall be employed in the City or ETJ, and shall be from the architecture/design or historic preservation field of expertise

Staff Liaison

  • Alison Brake, Development Services Planner
    Phone: 512-393-8232


This commission recommends, promote and approve the appropriateness and integrity of the 7 existing historic districts designed by the City of San Marcos.

For additional information on the Historic Preservation Commission Click Here