Women's Hall of Fame

2023 Women's Hall of Fame Inductees

Mary Peterson Earls, Nancy Hanks Ellis, Bobbie Garza-Hernandez and Mittie Miller

Mary Peterson EarlsNancy Hanks EllisBobbie Garza-HernandezMittie Miller


The San Marcos Women's Hall of Fame began in 1984 as a way to honor women for their volunteerism and leadership in the community. Since then, over 140 women have been inducted into the Hall of Fame.

Award Criteria

Criteria for selection includes volunteerism in multiple areas of service, meeting the needs of the community, demonstration of initiative, influencing positive change and going beyond the call of duty. Detailed selection criteria can be found on the application.


Nominations are accepted online annually beginning in late June, July and August. Paper nominations are also available at the Parks and Recreation office, 401 E. Hopkins Street. 

Award Ceremony

The Women's Hall of Fame award ceremony will take place on Thursday, October 12, 2023 at 6pm at the Pauline Espinosa Community Hall.

Past Inductees

Additional Information

For additional information or questions, email Christie Murillo or call 512-393-8404.