May 2, 2020 Special Election - Canceled


Due to COVID-19 and by the executive order of Governor Abbott, City Council canceled the special election previously set for May 2, 2020 to fill the vacancy in San Marcos City Council Place 5.

A subsequent ordinance will be considered to order a special election to fill the vacancy with new election deadlines including a new deadline to file an application for a place on the ballot for that election. Please continue to check the City’s website for additional information.

Ordinance 2020-17

Special Election for Council Member Place 5 (Unexpired Term) 

Important Dates

  • March 18, 2020 to March 23, 2020 - Filing period for application for a place on the ballot - Application
  • March 24, 2020 at 12 p.m. - Drawing for a place on the ballot
  • April 20, 2020 - April 28, 2020  - Early Voting - Vote Center Locations
  • May 2, 2020 - Election Day - Vote Center Locations
  • May 11, 2020 - Election Canvass
voter buttons on black background with San Marcos May 2 election information


Election Ordinance English Spanish

Candidate Information

CandidateApplicationAppointment of TreasurerCode of Fair Campaign1st Finance Report (04/02)2nd Finance Report (04/24)Financial Disclosure
Steven Hyden03.18.202003.13.202003.18.2020

Zachariah Sambrano03.18.202003.18.202003.18.2020

Mark Gleason03.19.202003.19.202003.19.2020

Omar Baca03.23.202003.23.202003.23.2020

Jay Stiles03.23.202003.23.202003.23.2020


Requirements For Public Office

City of San Marcos Charter Requirements

Sec. 3.02. - Qualifications - Click Here

State of Texas Requirements under Election Code

Sec. 141.001 - Eligibility Requirements for Public Office -  Click Here

The City of San Marcos contracts with the Hays County Election Administrator to conduct and oversee its elections.  

The voting system that is used is the Verity Duo by Hart Intercivic. This voting system is the newest hybrid voting solution that merges the ease of touchscreen voting with the assurance of paper vote records.

Touch Duovoter

View the county’s election page for more information.